A simple sewing project- suck pads for a soft structure baby carrier

If we are friends in real life, it’s no secret to you that I have a bit of an obsession with baby carriers. I mostly use woven wraps these days, but I also love love love my Tulas (yes, I have several…mama’s gotta have options!). Similar in concept to the Ergo baby carrier, the Tula is a full buckle carrier. It has more padding than an Ergo, though, and the straps synch tighter to make it more adjustable. Basically, it’s more comfortable and comes in all sorts of fun fabrics. I’m not knocking the Ergo. It was a fabulous carrier until my first baby was about 18 months. At that point, we really needed something more supportive. I bought a toddler-sized Tula and was hooked. Now I’m a Tula girl through and through. Well…in addition to my wraps. Those are a whole different story. 

My newest Tula is called Eiko Quilt. The middle panel features this pretty fabric. 

Image

 

Seeing as my baby girl loves nothing more than to chew on her Tula straps, those bad boys needed protecting. And since I have barely touched my sewing machine since I found out I was pregnant with baby girl, I needed a simple project to wet my feet again. Suck pads were perfect for that. 

I picked up some Eiko Quilt fabric from Fabric Worm in addition to a coordinating fabric- Eiko Flower Dots. I made the suck pads about 10 x 6.5 inches, although 9 x 6.5 inches would have been fine too. I made them reversible using the two fabrics linked above and included a layer of flannel in the center to add a bit of absorbency. You know. For all that drool. Three coordinating snaps to close them up and they were done. They took about 45 minutes from start to finish, and that was while chatting with my dear blogger friend over at Born Ambitious. Born Imaginative. 

Here’s the finished product. Next time, I might add some ribbon for her to chew on!

Image

ImageImage

2 thoughts on “A simple sewing project- suck pads for a soft structure baby carrier

Leave a Reply

