Felt Farm Animals

I’m finally declaring myself finished with my Christmas present queue. (At least until after Christmas, when I have a few that I need to retroactively complete).  I thought I was done last week, until yesterday when I decided that little man *had* to have some farm animals to go in his toy barn. He’s been playing with the barn for a while (I bought it at a garage sale and used it with my preschoolers when I was working), but with no farm animals to go inside, it was definitely lonely. One time, I got all the farm animal blocks in his Uncle Goose block set and put them inside, but it didn’t really feel right. it needed “real” animals. I had visions of putting his barn under the Christmas tree and having him discover new animals inside. But it was already December 22nd. I figured I should just give up the Christmas morning idea and make them later on. I even considered going out and buying some farm animals but I couldn’t do it. And I’m stubborn.

So I found some patterns for stuffed farm animals. The pig, hen and lamb come from Martha Stewart, and the horse I found through some mad google searching skills. I hate to look a gift horse in the mouth (since all the patterns were free), but Martha’s directions were really terrible. I guess I’ve been spoiled by crafty bloggers who do awesome tutorials with step by step directions. Anyway, there were some frustrating moments, but if there’s one thing I’ve gotten better at through sewing and knitting, it’s patience. So I powered through, figured it out and finished. By the time I got to the horse (which has no directions at all), it was easy and I finished it in about 45 minutes. They’re not perfect, but I doubt he will care. I can’t wait for him to open his present!

The hen has a bean bag sewed to the bottom so that she doesn’t tip over. It also makes it very easy to have her peck a the ground. 
Here’s the gang. Soon I hope to add a black cat, a cow, a chick, a duck, a goose….*sigh*
There’s a pipe cleaner in Mr. Pig’s tail to keep it curled.
I couldn’t get him to stand straight up, so he’s a jumping horse.

So to those of you who celebrate Christmas, happy day before Christmas Eve! I don’t know if I’ll post again before the actual day so Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

