DIY Toddler Slippers

There’s nothing cozier to me than a pair of slippers when you’re home on a cool day. (Well, maybe a pair of slippers, good book and a fire would be even cozier, but you get the point).
Little man didn’t have any slippers, only socks. But most of his socks aren’t non-slip, so when wearing socks he’d just slip and slide around the house- falling even more than he normally would without any socks on. Something needed to be done so that he could have warm feet without all the falls. So, I set out to make him some slippers. I used some non-slip fabric that I found at Jo-Ann. I believe I spent $3 on enough of this stuff to make slippers for years to come (and I only bought 1/4 yard). For the rest of it, I used scraps of fleece and some 1/4 inch elastic that I already had. For the pattern, I adapted it from a pair of soft soled shoes that currently fit him. I was able to get these done start to finish (making the pattern and all) in a couple hours. Now I’m going to make him a few more pairs in different colors for when these ones are in the wash.
If there’s enough interest, I can do a tutorial for how to make these. Let me know in the comments if you’d like that.
Front and back
Slippers in action
2 thoughts on “DIY Toddler Slippers

  1. Julie

    You're in luck, Shannon! I made a second pair and took pictures along the way. I need to adjust the larger pattern a bit, but I think I'll be able to post that too. What size shoe is your little miss wearing these days?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

