Garage sale score!

Just one post ago, I referenced my ongoing search for the perfect mid-century modern piece of furniture to refinish. We’ve been combing craigslist ads for years, literally, hoping to snag the perfect dresser or credenza to purchase as a refinishing project. The only problem with craigslist is that there are so many posts in the furniture section around here that you can spend an eternity looking through posts, even if you narrow down to “dressers.”

What we’re looking for is pretty specific. Clean lines, tapered legs, ideally from the 60s. The problem is, if you search for “mid-century modern” on craigslist, you’re only going to get posts by people who know what they have, and who are trying to get top dollar for it. Well, we’re not interested in paying $200 for a dresser that needs to be refinished, so all my searches have come up empty.
Until last weekend! We met some friends for coffee on Saturday morning. On our way home to put our very tired baby down for a nap, I spotted what seemed to be just what we’d been looking for at a garage sale. I was convinced that it was already sold it was just there waiting to be picked up. Just in case it was still available, I *might have* pulled an illegal U-turn to get to it faster.
Anyway, I parked, walked up, asked if it was still available. Sure enough it was! Asked how much he wanted for it (fully expecting at least 50 bucks). Nope. He wanted 10 dollars. TEN DOLLARS! Then I had a sinking feeling because I remembered that I only had $2 in my wallet. No!! Hubby came to the rescue, though. Phew.
I didn’t even haggle with the guy. I was too giddy. I happily paid the man, asked if we could come back to pick it up within 30 minutes. He agreed, and we were on our way. Then my handsome went back to pick it up while I put the little guy down for a nap.
Here’s a teaser “before” picture for you. It will be a lot of work, but I’m really hoping I can pull it off and end up with a nice piece for our living room!
2 thoughts on “Garage sale score!

  1. Shannon

    Awesome, awesome, awesome!!! We've picked up a few MCM pieces from CL recently, although none that absolutely *needed* refinishing. Our new house was built during that era, so I love having pieces that totally look like they belong! I can't wait to see the finished result!

    Reply
  2. Julie

    Hey! Long time no “see.” How is miss Emmie? I see she took her first steps! Awesome! 🙂

    That's so cool that you've got a MCM style going too. Love it! I can't wait to see our finished result either. Now for some sanding.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

