DIY First Birthday Rainbow Onesie

By this time next week, my baby boy will be 1 year old. I can hardly believe it and I’ve definitely been feeling mixed emotions about it. His birthday party is the weekend after his birthday, so I’ve been distracting myself with prep for that.

We’re planning a rainbow theme for his party, and I have lots of ideas spinning around in my head (and on my pinterest boards). I’m sure I’ll post more about decor as things get finished and after the party itself. For now, though, let’s talk 1st birthday outfit.

I decided to make him a rainbow onesie for the occasion, using freezer paper stenciling. I knew that making a rainbow using freezer paper stenciling would involve many layers, and therefore, a lot of time, but I wanted to give it a shot. It ended up turning out well, except for where part of the writing went over the rainbow and bled a bit. I’m learning that freezer paper does not stick as well to paint as it does to fabric.

Below, I’ll post some pictures of the process for this onesie. If you want a more in depth tutorial, though, take a look at this post on freezer paper stenciling.

Here are all the stencils and the pattern I created on my computer
Stencils again
Fabric paint 
Almost done. Just need to paint the text on there. 
Aaaand done! 

It took about a week to do it all (a day for each color), but I think it turned out very cute! If I have some extra time and patience, I’ll touch up the blotchy “d” on the rainbow, but I’ll probably leave it as is. I have too many projects to finish before the big day and too little time!

Leave a Reply

