High Ground Organics CSA- Week 1

Today was our first CSA pick-up of the season. It included potatoes, baby kale braising mix, carrots, beets, butternut squash, leeks and green cabbage. I won the jackpot though…someone put leeks in the trade box. So I got an extra bunch of leeks in exchange for my cabbage! (Not that there is anything wrong with cabbage, but as long as I’m nursing Quentin, I will avoid it. I was traumatized by an ultra gassy night early on).

I’ve already made baby food with the butternut squash, and Quentin had some cubed steamed carrots tonight for the first time. He loved them and did so well picking them up and chewing them up.

I will probably make him some leek puree with one of the bunches, and a soup for Trevor and I with the other bunch. You might think leeks for a baby is kind of weird, but I made him some last week and he absolutely loved them. In fact, he pitched a fit when they were gone.

I haven’t decided how I’ll use the other veggies yet, but I’m definitely excited about having our CSA back! We’ve had very busy weekends for the last month or so, and because of that have been slacking on going to the farmer’s market. The CSA greatly simplifies this problem for us. If you’re local to the SF Bay Area and are looking for a great CSA, High Ground Organics has always provided us with a nice variety of very fresh and beautiful organic produce. We have really loved them. Check them out!

2 thoughts on “High Ground Organics CSA- Week 1

  1. Shannon

    I'm so jealous of you with your California growing season! Our CSA doesn't start until May or June and even then, it takes quite a while to get to the good stuff like you already have. And a big woot woot for traded leeks! Those are the best! Emmie likes them in a mix I make with chicken, sweet potatoes and apples (I like it too!)

    Reply
  2. Julie

    Yes, I realize that we are totally spoiled here. It's so easy for us to eat locally here. I kind of take it for granted. Glad I'm not the only one who's little one is a fan of leeks! They are delicious 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

