Red Cabbage Salad


This is a pretty simple recipe, but I thought I’d share it with you anyway since it’s a classic French salad. I’ve been reading Alice Waters and Chez Panisse by Thomas McNamee, which has inspired me to write my recipes in a more stream of consciousness manner.

Start with a very fresh head of red cabbage and cut it in half. Then cut one of the halves in half. Keep one quarter of the cabbage out and put the remaining pieces in the fridge. Using a sharp knife or a mandolin, slice the cabbage very thinly, and then give the entire pile a few chops so that the cabbage slices are not too long to eat easily.

Next make the vinaigrette in the bottom of a salad bowl. Combine a few small spoonfuls of dijon mustard with a splash of red wine vinegar. I don’t ever measure this so I can’t give you specifics. I like to stick my nose in the bowl and smell to see if there’s a nice mustard-vinegar balance. Add some salt and freshly cracked pepper. Next, slowly drizzle oil into the mustard mixture while beating it with a fork or whisk. I like to use a combination of walnut oil and olive oil. I find that if I use only olive oil, my vinaigrette comes out a bit too fruity. As you whisk in the olive oil, the mixture should emulsify. If you notice that the vinegar and oil are separating, slow down or stop the stream of oil and continue to beat the mixture. Once it begins coming together again, add a little bit more oil (again, I never measure…some people prefer a more vinegary vinaigrette- i.e. me- and some prefer more oily, it’s up to you to decide what you like!).

2 thoughts on “Red Cabbage Salad

  1. Christian

    Quick and healthy! Thanks for the post – your red cabbage was the talk last week!
    I'll be picking one up at the FMarkey this weekend!
    Now u gotta give me a clue about what to do with the other 3/4 of the cabbage!

    Reply
  2. Julie

    Well I'm a bit addicted to this red cabbage salad right now, so I've just been making it all week. But if you don't want to do that, you could make a soup with shredded cabbage, potatoes, sausage and broth. Simmer it just long enough for the potatoes to cook through. Enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

