Tarragon Chicken

After picking my parents up from the airport the other day, I left their house with a big bunch of tarragon from their garden. While it may seem strange to base a meal off of an herb, that’s exactly what I was going to do. Should I make fish? Chicken? An omelet? Hmm…I settled on Tarragon Chicken, a popular French dish (called “Poulet a l’Estragon”). I had never made it before, and didn’t have a recipe, but it’s a simple dish and I had a pretty good idea of how to go about making it. Start with some shallots, butter, chicken, salt, pepper, white wine, tarragon (duh!), and finish the sauce with some creme fraiche. I called my mom just to find out if I was completely off base, and she named these exact ingredients! After doing a little celebratory jig and patting myself on the back, I got to work. If you’re not sure what to make for dinner, give Tarragon Chicken a try- it’s simple and tasty (my favorite combination)!

Ingredients:
4 chicken breasts
4 shallots, peeled & sliced
1 tbsp butter
1/2-1 cup dry white wine
1/4 cup + 2 tbsp fresh tarragon, chopped
4 tbsp creme fraiche
Salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  • In a nonstick pan, over medium heat, melt the butter. Add the shallots and sautee for a few minutes, until they begin to soften.
  • Add chicken breasts. Brown the chicken on all sides.

  • Add the white wine. Sprinkle some salt and freshly cracked pepper into the mix.

  • Sprinkle 1/4 cup of tarragon over chicken and white wine. Cover, and simmer for 5-8 minutes, until chicken is cooked through.

  • Once chicken has finished cooking, remove chicken from pan and place on serving plate. Remove the pan from heat. Mix creme fraiche into white wine and tarragon. Heat for another minute or two, just to warm the sauce. Do not allow the sauce to boil, as this may cause the creme fraiche to curdle.

  • Pour finished sauce on top of chicken. Sprinkle with remaining tarragon. Serve with rice or steamed vegetables.

2 thoughts on “Tarragon Chicken

  1. Trevor Olsen

    This really is one of the simplest recipes ever. I'm definitely going to store this one away for when I'm called upon to step in the kitchen and cook. It's a lot more interesting that just boiling pasta.

    Reply
  2. Richard Nikoley

    Wow, I'm behind in reading. Great and simple one, Julie.

    By chance, I just got an organic, whole chicken breast at WF (with the skin). Was going to grill and chop for salads, but I may just have to rethink.

    I love tarragon.

    Oh, BTW, pretty damn paleo, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

