Rhubarb-rose compote with strawberries and creme fraiche


This recipe came about on a whim, as most of my recipes do. On my weekly trip to the Campbell Farmer’s Market last Sunday, my eye caught some rhubarb, which I decided would go well with the strawberries that I invariably come home with every week in the summertime. I didn’t want to go with the typical strawberry rhubarb pie- with the hot weather we’ve been having, such a heavy dessert just didn’t sound good. So I decided I’d go with a simple rhubarb compote, and dress it up in “post-production.” The results were fresh and flavorful, with a nice balance of sweet, rich and tart flavors.

Ingredients:
3 stalks rhubarb, washed and diced
1/4 cup honey
2 tsp rose syrup
zest from 1 lemon
6 large strawberries (sliced)
3 tbsp creme fraiche


Directions:

  • Put rhubarb and a splash of water in a medium pot over medium-low heat. Add honey, and cook until rhubarb is soft (about 20 minutes).
  • Remove rhubarb from stove and allow to cool completely. This can be done a day ahead, with the rhubarb stored in the refrigerator over night.
  • Mix the rose syrup and lemon zest into the rhubarb compote.
  • Serve the rhubarb in 6 bowls. Top with sliced strawberries, a dollop of creme fraiche and lemon zest.


Now I want to know- What is your favorite thing to do with rhubarb?

3 thoughts on “Rhubarb-rose compote with strawberries and creme fraiche

  1. Olsen Family

    Julie,
    I have to admit I have never made anything with rhubarb… yet. You have inspired me to try. Your pictures are also gorgeous and your blog is so classy. I am so impressed!
    Sara Olsen

    Reply
  2. Julie

    Hi Sara! Nice last name šŸ™‚ I didn't know you married an Olsen! Thanks for checking out my blog. Definitely give rhubarb a chance…it's tasty stuff. Hope you're doing well!

    Trev- It's okay to be cliche with that one…I'm sure you're not the only one who would choose strawberry rhubarb pie. It's delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

