Creamy Roasted Parsnip Soup


I’m a big fan of roasted root vegetables. They’re something I look forward to about cold weather. I mean, you really can’t roast vegetables in a hot oven when it’s 95 degrees outside, and 80 degrees inside. So I make sure to get my fill during the winter months. Even though it’s not technically winter anymore, the weather can’t seem to make up its mind. The last week has been pretty cold here!

Recently, I experimented with a new root vegetable (new to me at least)- parsnips! I don’t think parsnips are particularly obscure root vegetables. I may have eaten them before…I just don’t recall ever cooking with them myself. In a spirit of experimentation, I decided to order them with our CSA box last week to find out what the parsnip is all about. Turns out, it’s quite tasty! Roasting them brought out a nice sweetness that complemented the creaminess of the soup. It definitely hit the spot on a cold, rainy day.

Creamy Roasted Parsnip Soup


Ingredients:
3 large parsnips, peeled, cut into large chunks w/ centers removed
1/4 red onion, peeled coarsely chopped
1-2 shallots, peeled, coarsely chopped
2 stalks celery, coarsely chopped
4 medium potatoes, peeled, cut into large chunks
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
3 cups broth (veggie or chicken)
.5 cup 2% milk
1 Tbsp heavy cream
1/2 Tbsp butter
Salt & pepper to taste
Toasted hazelnuts, coarsely chopped

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Combine the parsnips, onion, shallots, celery and potatoes in a dutch oven. Mix in the olive oil and salt. Cover the dutch oven and place it in the warm oven for about 30 minutes. Once the veggies are soft, remove the pot from the oven. Cover the veggies with broth and cook over medium heat on the stove top. When the broth is warm, blend the soup with a hand blender, or in a regular blender (working in batches). Once the soup is smooth, add the milk, cream and butter. Mix well and return the soup to medium heat. Add pepper to taste. Serve with toasted hazelnuts if desired.

One thought on “Creamy Roasted Parsnip Soup

  1. Ryan Brady

    That soup looks really tasty 🙂
    I know I have had parsnips before but can’t remember what the taste like! Like the addition of the toasted hazelnuts…hmmm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

