Cranberry Scones


Today I got a chance to relax a little bit and do some baking. This was nice for me because I took a much-needed break from schoolwork, and it will be wonderful for our breakfast tomorrow! I decided to incorporate a seasonal ingredient- cranberries! I’d been meaning to make scones for a few days now, so why not make cranberry scones?

I adapted the recipe from a Cream Currant Scone recipe in my William Sonoma-Baking cookbook. The only change I made was to include the fresh cranberries instead of dried currants. They turned out great! Just a warning though…these are not diet scones (not that diet scones actually exist). But they’re very tasty. Here is the recipe I used:

Ingredients:
For the scones:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar
1 tbsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp grated lemon zest
6 tbsp. cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1 cup fresh cranberries, roughly chopped
3/4 cup heavy cream

For the topping:
1 tbsp. sugar
1 tsp. cinnamon
2 tsp. milk

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with a silpat or parchment paper.

In a food processor, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and lemon zest. Pulse the food processor 2 to 3 times, until the ingredients are mixed. Add the butter and pulse until the ingredients form coarse crumbs. Add the cranberries and cream. Pulse until the dough is barely mixed. Do not overmix!!

Take the dough out, place it on a floured surface and form a ball. Flatten the dough until it’s about 6 inches in diameter. Cut the dough into 6 wedges, and place the wedges on the prepared pan. Brush the top of each scone with milk and sprinkle the cinnamon mixture on top.

Bake the scones for 13-15 minutes, until they are golden. Place them on a wire rack to cool.

These are best served warm with a bit of jam and a spot of tea. Very posh 🙂


Hope you enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Cranberry Scones

  1. Trevor Olsen

    This is by far the best scone I’ve ever had. I used to think I didn’t like scones because the only ones I ever tried were those crappy brick-ish Starbucks scones. Now I’m hooked.

    Reply
  2. Chris Colburn

    I’m still stuck on the crappy Starbucks scones. I guess it’s about time for me to move onto bigger and better things.Julie, what about the crazy cookies you made!?! Those were AWESOME!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

