Herbed goat cheese and heirloom tomato salad

Remember those heirloom tomatoes I wrote about a few days ago? They completely lived up to their heirloom expectations- they were flavorful, fresh, and juicy. I used them on some homemade pizzas, in several batches of salsa, and in a delicious herbed goat cheese and tomato salad. I got the idea for the salad from my friend Jennifer who described a similar dish she ate at Chez Papa in San Francisco. I haven’t tried it myself, so I don’t know if my creation is similar to the dish from the restaurant, but it was extremely simple to make, and delicious. Even Trevor, who’s not the biggest tomato fan, was savoring each bite.

Here’s what you need:
2 medium-sized heirloom tomatoes
1/2 c. soft goat cheese
1 Tbsp. olive oil
2 Tbsp. fresh herbs, finely chopped (I used chives and basil)
a pinch of sea salt
Using a sharp knife, cut a thin slice from the bottom of each tomato, so that the finished product will have a flat surface to sit on. Carefully slice the tomatoes so that they can be stacked back up into tomato form. In a small bowl, mix the goat cheese, herbs and olive oil until the mixture is smooth. Spoon a thin layer of goat cheese mixture between each slice of tomato as you stack them back up. Serve with a drizzle of olive oil. Enjoy.
3 thoughts on “Herbed goat cheese and heirloom tomato salad

  1. Jennifer

    The only difference I see was at Chez Papa they drizzled pesto sauce around the rim of the dish. It was absolutely delicious. Some of my favorite ingredients all on one plate! .. Can’t wait to try your rendition Julie!

    Reply
  2. Julie

    ooh…a drizzle of pesto sauce does sound great! I thought about mixing pesto into the goat cheese, but I didn’t have any at the time. Thanks for the top, though! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

    I’m nnot that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up!
    I'll go aead and bookmark your siote to come back down the road.
    All thhe best

    Feel free to surf tto my website … paleo diet dinner recipes cheap ()

    Reply

Leave a Reply

